The Ultimate Guide to Understand Vegan Capsules

Vegan capsules are considered to be the best alternative for those who avoid eating meat or cannot consume meat products. They have the same benefits as any other typical capsule and do not cause any issues related to one’s dietary beliefs.

Capsules have a two-piece closure to them and are generally made with gelatin. These capsules contain ingredients such as medications, vitamins, minerals, or other supplements. Vegan capsules are similar to gelatin; they too carry medication in them along with other supplements.

Compared to tablets, vegan capsules have many advantages such as being much easier to swallow as it is not chalky. These capsules also break down easily in the digestive system. If tablets are hard for you to swallow, you should consider using capsules since you can easily open them and empty out the contents within them into food or beverages.

Things Vegan Capsules are Made of

Most vegan capsules are made of cellulose gained from vegetables. There are many different types of vegetable cellulose, so each of them makes up a different vegan capsule. One of the materials within vegan capsules can be Hypromellose, which is a type of cellulose gained from softwood trees; examples include fir trees, pine, and spruce trees.

Many of these trees are grown in temperate climates within the Northern Hemisphere. However, these three can be grown in both cold and warm places if provided with enough water as well as good soil.

Producers tend to use Hypromellose in many products since it is a common and popular alternative to gelatin made from animals. Hypromellose also serves as a binder or coating material for many tablets.

Hypromellose has unique compositing, which makes it suitable to be used in the production of vegan capsules. This is because once the capsule is in the digestive tract, the Hypromellose can help delay the release of active ingredients.

The Different Types of Vegan Capsules

HPMC Vegan Capsules

Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (HPMC) is a vegetable cellulose compound, which is why it is not genetically modified (non-GMO) and can be consumed by vegetarians. The HPMC capsule is used in pharmaceutical companies to make medical products and dietary supplements.

Furthermore, these vegan capsules also have a gelling agent, which shields the enteric properties from the acidic condition within the stomach, and it also allows for the complete dissolution in the intestine.

Tapioca Capsules

Tapioca capsules are another type of vegan capsules that are made from tapioca starch and purified water. Tapioca is made of plant-based material. Tapioca itself has a sticky and bright appearance when compared to other common caps.

The Benefits of Using Vegan Capsules

Vegan capsules are the best alternative to the regular capsules available on the market. They have the same quality as gelatin tablets, and in this process, no animals are harmed. Vegan capsules are also tasteless; thus, they won’t taste bitter or too sweet when consumed.

People who have strict dietary beliefs can also consume this product. Vegan capsules also digest perfectly and can help with the slow release of active ingredients. Many people also use vegan capsules in gel and powder form.

Generally, all-vegan capsules are kosher and halal certified. Thus, letting people with religious restrictions also have the ability to consume the medication in a more comfortable way.

The Similarities between Vegan and Gelatin Capsules

The difference between vegan and gelatin capsules is obviously the way they are made and the substance they are made from. However, both of these capsules also have many things in common such as:

  • Both gelatin and vegan capsules are a better alternative to tablets. Many consumers also enjoy using capsules over tablets since they are easier to swallow.
  • Both the capsules can be kept in storage for a prolonged period of time without expiring. They both can be stored easily.
  • Both gelatin and vegan capsules are tasteless and do not have any odor. Thus, there are no worries about the supplements or medication tasting and smelling bad
  • Both vegan and gelatin capsules easily disintegrate within the digestive system.

With so many similarities between the two of them, the choice of which one is better comes down to the consumer and their demand.

Frequently Asked Questions

How Do You Use Vegan Capsules?

Vegan capsules can be filled with any supplements or pharmaceutical drug by using a capsule filling machine or any other method. Capsule filling machines allow for the best encapsulation of all the powders and oils.  Each package of a vegan capsule comes with instructions on how to fill it, and thus, the way you fill it depends on the type of capsule you purchased.

How Long Does a vegan Capsule Take to Dissolve?

A vegan capsule can take anywhere between thirty to sixty minutes before it softens up and disintegrates. Vegan capsules, which are made of modified cellulose, originally only contain ten percent water in them. But once it is swallowed, it slowly hydrates and then disintegrates in the stomach.

Are Vegan Capsules Any Good?

Vegan capsules are capable of doing the same job as any other gelatin capsule.

Can You Replace Food with Supplements Made from Vegan Capsules?

Supplements made from vegan capsules cannot replace food since they do not contain all the nutrients that food can provide the body. Thus, one should always consume fruits and vegetables along with taking supplements.

How Can You Know if Your Capsules Are Vegan?

You can try putting the capsule into the water that has a temperature of twenty-five degrees Celsius (seventy-seven degrees Fahrenheit). If it is a vegan capsule, then it will dissolve in the next thirty minutes or so.


Now that you have a lot of ideas around vegan capsules and gelatin capsules, I’m sure you are now aware that the former form of capsule is more advisable or effective than the latter. Their production cost can make them a bit expensive compared to other gelatin capsules, but the lives of many animals are saved in this process.

Vegan capsules have not been around for as many centuries as gelatin capsules, but they provide a better outcome for the environment and are capable of doing just as good of a job as any other capsule in the market.