The Burning Bridge by John Flanagan

So, is “The Burning Bridge” as good as the first Ranger Apprentice book?

Here is a review for The Burning Bridge. It is the second book in the Ranger’s Apprentice series, written by John Flanagan and is just as good as the first.

The book’s story plot

It takes place when Will, his friend Horace, and the Ranger Gilan travel into a bordering nation called Celtica and find that many small villages and some cities are abandoned. They then go on to find that Wargels, Morgarath’s main fighters, have a small force in Celtica and are capturing all of their miners. As they ride on the trio find s Evanlyn a maid to a noble lady from Araluen. Shortly after that, they split up Gilan going ahead to tell the king about what has happened to Celtica, and the rest of them following behind. Then Will, Horace, and Evanlyn follow a pack of Wargels escorting captured miners. Meanwhile, Gilan reveals an unexpected secret about Evanlyn. Will, Horace, and Evanlyn also uncover a huge secret that, if not reported, could destroy Araluen and Celtica utterly. What are Evanlyn’s secret and will Will and the others report their discovery before it is too late?

“The Burning Bridge”: action-packed and full of unexpected twists and turns

What I really like about this book is that it has lots of unexpected twists and turns in that leave you very surprised and excited. I also liked that there is lots of action in both the beginning and the end.

The final verdict?

All in all I think this is a very good book to read for ages ten to fourteen and also written to keep you tense and ready for the next surprise.

More about the book, the series and the author

The Burning Bridge is the second book of the Ranger Apprentice series written by Australian fantasy-adventure author John Flanagan.

The other books in the Ranger Apprentice series are as follows (in order)

  • The Ruins of Gorian
  • The Icebound Land
  • Oakleaf Bearers
  • The Sorcerer of the North
  • The Siege of Macindaw
  • Erak’s Ransom
  • The Kings of Clonmel
  • Halt’s Peril
  • The Emperor of Nihon-Ja
  • The Lost Stories
  • The Royal Ranger

Reviews of other books will be featured in the coming hubs.

Originally, in the 1990s Flanagan had written twenty short stories to encourage his own son (who was then twelve years old) into reading. When Flanagan got hand of those stories again he decided to have them published into books.

The Ranger’s Apprentice series got more mileage when a bookstore in Austin, Texas promoted it, and the series has a collection of the world’s most widely-read books, which are primarily aimed at kids but also recommended for the young-at-heart. The series mostly received warm critical praises and emerged as a strong seller, having sold tens of millions of copies worldwide.

Follow the young orphan/apprentice Ranger Will’s adventures as he sets out to protect the Kiingdom of Araulen from the evil forces. The book teaches you that you can do anything no matter how small you are or how small you start — nothing’s impossible if you keep on striving to reach to your goals.

Useful links for additional reading